Camera crazed

This might be the only time that I was actually happy with a gloomy, rainy Saturday. The weather gave me a great excuse to get a ton done at home and play with my new camera all day. I usually never read manuals but there are so many settings and buttons on this camera that I figured I needed a little help. I really want to learn how to use the camera, not just shoot in automatic programmed modes otherwise it’s barely worth the investment in my opinion. So, I stuck the instructional CD into my computer and then proceeded to lose 3 hours of my life on the couch yesterday morning while trying to read and comprehend everything it outlined. Bad idea. I don’t learn well by reading, I need to actually do it. After 3 hours my head was spinning and I was getting frustrated by how little sense it all made so I took a break and cleaned the entire house, did NWOLFW and went for a 3.5 mile run. By that point I had calmed down a bit about all the camera lingo and decided to just go outside with my lunch and play around. Everything here was shot in manual. I had apertures, shutter speeds and ISO all confused and it’s pretty evident in the first few takes. Over exposed, under exposed, etc…

IMG_0101IMG_0102IMG_0107IMG_0111

Getting even more frustrated at this point now that the pictures are looking worse than with my point and shoot.

IMG_0110IMG_0114

Then I figured it out! I hadn’t realized that as you adjust the ISO, shutter speed and aperture that it shows you the exposure meter and it should be somewhere close to the middle. Mine was not. Hence the either really bright or really dark pictures. Once I figured that out things started to get better.

IMG_0117IMG_0118

And then I had some fun playing around with the depth of field.

IMG_0123IMG_0120IMG_0121

Focused grill, slightly blurry grill, very blurry grill. Woohoo!

IMG_0124

Love this one.

IMG_0137IMG_0139

IMG_0142IMG_0143IMG_0144

Flowers got a little boring so I decided I needed to cook or bake something that I could photograph. But, I didn’t really feel like cooking or baking anything. Then Averie’s raw chocolate chip dough balls popped into my head! Except, I didn’t have any cashews so I subbed them out for almonds instead. The rest of the recipe is exactly the same so check it out on her site if you’re interested. It’s like a  dough ball meets Larabar and the result is pretty darn tasty.IMG_0154IMG_0156IMG_0160IMG_0164IMG_0170

And now I’m hooked on 2 things:

-photographing everything

and

raw dough balls (I have a ton of variations I now want to try after tasting these)

If you have a DSLR what are some of your best tips? Do you shoot in manual? Any good photography blog posts out there you recommend?

22 Comments

Filed under Around the house, Raw

22 responses to “Camera crazed

  1. Sooooo jealous! I want a dslr so bad but can’t justify the spend right now. Christmas can’t come soon enough!

    Your pics look great already. Quick learner!

  2. barbara

    Should have called me , I took a photography course or two a few “years “ago. Had a really nice SLR back then (no D) but the theory is the same. Even developed prints in the basement at one point! Still have that camera. I like the Lobelia shot too!

  3. Ooh and whats that delicious looking stuff smeared in peanut butter (?) sat next to the bananas?? Cake of some kind?! Looks great! And the dish next to it! 🙂

  4. It takes a while to get used to the dslr I guess, but once you’ll figure out everything the pictures will stand out. I swear each type I see a new dslr on someones blog, my itch to buy one for myself increases.

    Have a great Sunday!

  5. Kim (Book Worm Runs)

    Ahh, so jealous!! Great pics…you definitely caught on quick! 🙂 By the way, I ran on the Dutchess Rail Trail today and it was awesome 🙂

  6. You are making want to upgrade to a MUCH better camera.. so bad!

  7. I wish I had a new camera like that- your pictures are beautiful! I know nothing of photography, so even if I got a new camera, I would have no idea what to do with it 🙂

  8. Looks like so much fun! I wish I had a DSLR. Your pictures look great! And raw balls are amazing 🙂

  9. Nice! I love that you took the time to play around with your camera–that is something I really need to do.

  10. The Teenage Taste

    I don’t know anything about DSLR cameras, but it seems like you are doing pretty well with it so far! I love the pictures of the raw dough balls. Yum!

  11. I learned all of my DSL skills in high school and then forgot most of them until I got my DSLR for Christmas a few years ago. Definitely read the manual!

  12. Those pictures came out OUTSTANDING! Nice job! Are you totally and utterly obsessed?

  13. Wow, what great pictures :). I don’t have a professional camera right now but I sure want one after seeing these! I’ve seen a few raw versions of cookies lately.. but these really caught my eye 🙂 I’m not sure if it’s your new camera skills haha but i’ll definitely be making these next time my sweet tooth calls!

  14. I love rainy days when you need to stay home and get your ducks in a row; cookies are also always a great part of a day spent in. The best way to get to know your camera is just to spend time everyday with it.

  15. I have a DSLR and I almost always shoot in manual— I would recommend getting to know your camera and the kind of light you like to use for your pictures (understanding and manipulating aperture and shutter is essential). Always use manual focus too– makes SO much of a difference!

    (and those cookie dough balls? YUMM)

  16. We must have been on the same wave length this weekend. I made dough balls too. Something tells me though yours might be a bit healthier. I don’t know if I am going to make them again. They are just a bit TOO good!

  17. Oh man– I feel your pain! I’ve had my DSLR for over two years now, and I’m still just now getting the hang of it. I think practicing (ie, taking TONS of photos) is the best way to get better.

  18. Ugh– I feel your pain!! I’ve had my DSLR for over two years now, and I feel like I’m still trying to get the hang of it! Practicing (ie, taking TONS of pictures) is really, really helpful. I take pictures of everything!

Leave a Reply

