Coconut roasted carrot salad

P1013241

I’ve been on a bit of a coconut streak lately, adding unsweetened shredded coconut to my oats in the morning, roasting every possible vegetable in coconut oil instead of my usual olive oil, adding coconut butter to smoothies and the list goes on. So when Kelapo sent me a little jar of their coconut oil to try out I had no problem thinking of something to use it for. Since it’s Memorial Day weekend and pretty much everyone will be attending a BBQ at some point, I figured I’d make something that would be a nice side to all the grilled food. I hate when BBQ’s consist solely of meat, buns, and chips so I went with a vegetable but dressed it up a bit. Smile It was slightly warm in the house with the oven on in the 85 degree temps this afternoon but I’d say the outcome was worth it.

You’ll need about 2lbs of carrots for this. I only had about 1.5lbs of whole carrots so I stole a few baby ones from my hummus dip stash.

P1013222

P1013224

Wash and trim them. I hardly ever peel my carrots, just give them a good wash. You can peel them though if the outer layer ugliness bothers you. Since these were going to be roasted I figured no one would see the outer layer anyway. Slice the carrots on a diagonal in thin strips and place in a large bowl. Mince up a couple gloves of garlic next and grab about 1/4 cup of sliced almonds. Put both the minced garlic and the almonds into the bowl with the carrots.

P1013228

P1013229P1013231

Coconut oil wants to be solid. It will get slightly melted in the summertime but it’s never quite like other oils that are pourable (unless maybe your house isn’t air conditioned and gets pretty hot). For this recipe you need the oil to be completely liquid so you can pour it into the bowl with the carrots, garlic and almonds and stir to coat everything. I popped about 2 tablespoons into a small bowl and microwaved it for about 25 seconds, that’s all it needed to completely liquefy. When you  pour the now warm/hot oil over the colder carrots the oil might congeal a little. Don’t worry, once it goes into the oven everything will melt again.

P1013221

Pour the carrot mixture onto a baking sheet, you don’t really need to grease it since the oil is coating the mixture already. Roast at 400 degrees for about 30 minutes, mixing/flipping once or twice as they cook.

Use the 30 minutes the carrots are roasting to gather up the rest of the ingredients.

P1013232

P1013235P1013236

-apple cider vinegar

-honey

-feta

-dried cherries

-shredded coconut

-fresh mint leaves

I contemplated some more nuts/seeds but in the end left it simple with the almonds that were already in it. Not much prep work here. I just did a quick chiffonade with the mint and that was it.

Once the carrots are done take them out of the oven and let them rest a bit to cool down. Since we’re adding feta to the mixture you don’t want the hot carrots to melt the cheese. 15 minutes was about as much patience as I had.

Pour the carrot mixture back into the bowl and add all the other ingredients to it. Add some salt and pepper to taste and garnish with some mint leaves. I kept this at room temperature to serve because I didn’t want the oil to start to congeal from the cold fridge. Obviously, the leftovers are now in the fridge but I will probably warm them up in the microwave quickly before serving again.

P1013238 

P1013242P1013237

The carrots did a great job absorbing the coconut oil flavor. It really stood out in the dish. I think the addition of the shredded coconut helped bring out the coconut oil flavor too. If you’re not a fan of mint I’d go with basil. I was torn between the two but I’m glad I chose the mint, I like the contrast of it with the honey and sweet cherries in this.

 

Coconut Roasted Carrot Salad

Makes 6 side dish servings

  • 2 lbs carrots
  • 1/4 cup sliced almonds
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 tbsp coconut oil
  • 1/2 cup feta cheese
  • 1/4 cup dried cherries
  • 1/4 unsweetened shredded coconut
  • 1.5 tbsp apple cider vinegar
  • 2 tsp honey
  • handful of fresh mint leaves
  • salt/pepper

Directions:

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Wash, trim and peel carrots. Slice them diagonally into thin strips. Mince garlic. add garlic, almonds and carrots to a large bowl. Melt coconut oil and pour over carrot mixture. Add salt and pepper to taste. Combine well and pour onto baking sheet. Bake at 400 degrees for about 30 minutes, flipping/stirring a few times during baking. While carrots are roasting, chiffonade mint and add mint and all other ingredients to the same large bowl the carrots were in. When carrots are finished roasting, let cool for about 15-20 minutes. Once cool, add carrot mixture to bowl with other ingredients and stir well to combine. Season with salt & pepper again to taste and garnish with mint leaves.

 

What are you bringing to your Memorial Day BBQ?

12 Comments

Filed under Meals, Recipes, Side Dishes

12 responses to “Coconut roasted carrot salad

  1. have you ever thought about transferring to the CT office? I would really like to eat your leftovers. Is that weird?

  2. OH dear heavens
    I will definitely be trying this recipe!
    AMAZINGGGG
    xoxo
    bB
    Please stop by and say hi
    http://www.itsybitsybrianna.wordpress.com

  3. What a lovely recipe. It is one I certainly will be trying. This is my first visit to your blog so I took some extra time to browse through your earlier entries. I’m so glad I did that. I really like the food and recipes you share with your readers. I’ll definitely be back. I hope you have a great day. Blessings…Mary

  4. Carrots, coconut, and almonds sounds like an amazing combination! Hmmm… maybe I’ll try that today!!

  5. The Teenage Taste

    I wish I could come to your BBQ…I would eat that salad right up! 😛

  6. I LOVE CARROTS.. and this recipe looks absolutely delicious. Thanks SO much for sharing it!

  7. Oh what a fun salad -this looks GREAT!

  8. This combination sounds amazing, great idea!

    Nice blog!

  9. Wow this looks delish!! This may sound wierd but as much as i’m loving being on holiday I can’t wait to get back home and into the kitchen! :/ This will defo be getting re created! 🙂

  10. Pingback: Berry almond walnut protein cake bars | Running to the Kitchen

  11. Pingback: TCL Recipe Love (6/15/11)

Leave a Reply

