Cleaning out the fridge

I have 3 goals before we leave on Thursday.

  1. Clean out the fridge
  2. Fit in as much exercise as possible
  3. Pack

As of yesterday morning this is what we needed to eat our way through:

-5 leaves of kale

-3/4 block of tempeh

-1 block of tofu

-1/3 cup of cottage cheese

-1/2 of a big container of plain yogurt

-1/2 gallon of milk

-3 muffins

-2 lbs of strawberries

-1.5 pints of blueberries

-2 kiwis

-3.5 bananas

all that coleslaw

-1 pint of grape tomatoes

-4 green onions

-handful of arugula

-handful of grapes

All of that in 2.5 days. Think we can do it?

Here’s a look a day 1. It’s random but, I’m determined to not throw anything out!

Breakfast

P1012713

Don’t be fooled, these are no ordinary pancakes. I wanted to use up the cottage cheese but wasn’t really in the mood for it straight up. So, I improvised. Usually on weekends I’ll make pancakes from scratch. The weekdays just don’t afford that much free time though. Enter Trader Joe’s multigrain pancake mix.

P1012709

I’ve tried a ton of mixes and this is by far my favorite. It’s not perfect but at least seems a little better than Bisquick. I just halved the recipe on the box, added the cottage cheese, and cut back on the milk just a little since the cottage cheese gives it some moisture. I also always add a splash of vanilla and cinnamon to pretty much any baked good so that went in too. They quickly became blueberry pancakes once I realized how much fruit we have to get through. Half a pint of blueberries down, 1 pint to go! Smile

P1012717

Topped 1/2 banana, 4 strawberries, chia seeds, pepitas, and of course maple syrup.

Lunch

Tempeh, goat cheese, bacon and arugula sandwich with grapes and coleslaw on the side.

P1012729

P1012730

This was good! I’m not gonna lie, frying up the bacon and then heating up the tempeh in the bacon grease kind of just felt inherently wrong. I got over it after the first bite. Try it!

Dinner

Green onion, tomato and goat cheese frittata with kale chips on the side.

P1012745

P1012740

I love frittata’s. They’re simple, tasty and anything that involves goat cheese is a winner in my book.

So after Day 1 the list looks like this:

-5 leaves of kale

-3/4 block of tempeh 1/2 block left

-1 block of tofu

1/3 cup of cottage cheese

-1/2 of a big container of plain yogurt

-1/2 gallon of milk

-3 muffins 2 muffins (1 was an afternoon snack Smile)

-2 lbs of strawberries

-1.5 pints of blueberries  1 pint left

-2 kiwis

-3.5 bananas 3 left

all that coleslaw

-1 pint of grape tomatoes 1/2 pint left

-4 green onions

-handful of arugula

-handful of grapes

Not bad right?

As for #2 on the to do list, I fit in a 20 minute yoga for runners session, an easy 3 miles on the treadmill and 15 minutes of abs/core work. Good enough for me!

P1012727

Ginger supervised.

Packing didn’t even get touched. I always end up procrastinating with that one. Eye rolling smile

2 days!

5 Comments

Filed under Around the house, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Meals, Running

5 responses to “Cleaning out the fridge

  1. holy cow, that’s what you make cleaning out your fridge?! I’d end up making something like mac and cheese and beans…yeah, that’s actually happened before.

  2. You are so impressive! Especially on the food front. I hate random leftovers.

  3. Tempeh huh? I want to try it but it freaks me out a bit. Bob’s Red Mill also makes a mean pancake/waffle mix.

  4. You do have lots to clean out of the fridge…but you sure are whipping up some UH-MAZING food with it all. Mine looks significantly less delicious when I clean out the fridge.

  5. I have a love-hate relationship with cleaning out the fridge. Then again, if I had goat cheese, it would be a bit more on the “love” side.

Leave a Reply

