Airport insights & Mildred’s Big City Food

Yesterday started here.

P1012445

Westchester County airport. I love flying out of here because it’s only 45 minutes from my house and beats the hell that is traveling to and from JFK. This is the entire gate area. I’m standing in one corner of the room, yes 1 room, and you can see the other end pretty clearly. At 6:30 in the morning with 4 flights boarding at the same time it’s much like herding cattle. Or at least what I’d assume herding cattle is like as my allergies would never let me get close enough to experience that!

Any airport makes for excellent people watching material, but I really enjoy this one. There are mostly 2 types of people who fly out of Westchester.

  1. The “high profile” (or at least they think so) business travelers who probably work in NYC making bank and use this airport because it’s close to their home in Greenwich/Stamford/Westchester. They can be identified by their expensive suits, Rolex watches and refusal to look away from their smart phones at all costs.
  2. The same “high profile” business traveler who is just now into retirement from that life, still living in their affluent suburban neighborhoods, but now flying to their second home in Palm Beach, Boca Raton, or Fort Lauderdale. The men can be identified by their pink or yellow polo shirts and navy blazers with gold buttons. The women by their ridiculous amount of gold jewelry. 

I can personally attest to the latter as I lived in West Palm for 2 years and there would be more NY, NJ and CT license plates on the road than FL ones most of the time. The best part about these migratory retirees though is their incredible ability to have forgotten all they know about airport security from their golden years of travel. No matter how many times a TSA agent shouts to remove laptops or DVD players from their bag and put them in their own bin, someone inevitably neglects to do so holding up the whole line. “Do my shoes need to come off?” Oh no, of course not, everyone else is just standing barefoot for the heck of it. We like the feel of the lovely airport carpet under our toes. “Liquids?, I can’t take my liquids!?” Have you been been living in a bubble for the last 5 years? Yes, it’s been 5 years since the 3 oz. liquid rule has been in effect. Why do I know that? Because, it was the weekend of my bachelorette party that they initiated it.

bach

(actually from a second bachelorette party, but same wonderful tiara. The expression is thanks to a “surfers on acid” shot…yum)

Not having accumulated any 3 oz. bottles to travel with yet (now I hoard them from hotels), I checked my bag on the way to Baltimore to party it up with my bridesmaids. It was the one and only time my bag has ever been lost. I spent my bachelorette out in Fells Point wearing one bridesmaid’s skirt, another’s jewelry, and the granny panties I had on from that morning. Many drinks later, some random guy in a bar decided it would be a good idea to pick me up in the chaos of the bar/music (people just get crazy when you’re wearing a “bachelorette” tiara). I started screaming to put me down as that borrowed skirt was NOT long enough to cover the granny panties when lifted in the air. And that, is why I will always remember the liquid law being started in August of 2006. Before you think I’m incredibly insensitive, as these are “older” people, let me say that I do not get annoyed when families with children don’t know these things or people who just “look” like they don’t travel frequently. The people I’m talking about are EX-BUSINESS MEN/WOMEN who probably used to travel weekly and still travel back and forth to their “winter homes” yet somehow think they are above the TSA regulations.

I could probably write an entire blog dedicated to airports and the crazy things and people you see in them but back to food…

If you read yesterday’s post you know we were headed to Mildred’s Big City for dinner in Gainesville. I was a little leery about the place at first considering their website was still advertising 2010’s New Year’s Eve menu but boy was I wrong!

P1012446

Apparently this place doesn’t really want to be found because it’s in a pretty run-down strip mall, it’s plastic sign on the strip mall frontage was blown on to the roof so you couldn’t read it, and the entrance is on the side covered in vines. Combine that with their website and they are pretty much a marketer’s worst nightmare. The food however, is obviously what makes them successful. I’ll admit I wasn’t expecting much from Gainesville’s cuisine and I’m kind of shocked there’s even a market for a place like this when the rest of the “city” is littered with fast food meccas (nothing wrong with a little Chick-fil-A though!) and populated with 50,000 students.

The first thing greeting you when you walk in are the lovely desserts. Mostly different cheesecakes, but there was a carrot cake in there too.

P1012450

Dessert is the best part of any meal so I was sold immediately.

Two things caught my eye on the menu. First, the beet salad.

P1012449

P1012447

Second, the flounder. I was actually going to go with the Salmon at first but then found out it was farm raised in Scotland and I’m just not down with my fish coming that far only to have been farm raised. I think farm raising is disgusting. Have you ever seen a fish farm? There are so many fish in such tight quarters that if you tried to walk on top of the water I bet you could. Gross.

P1012456

This was off.the.hook good. You see that stuff on the left that looks like whipped cream? It was goat cheese. Goat cheese with a whipped cream consistency. The perfect bite included a little zest of that lemon preserve for the zing factor but, also some of that pistachio cream sauce which bordered on the sweet side.P1012461

The flounder was definitely good, it just didn’t have anything that made it outstanding (like the preserved lemon zest in the beets). I’d never had flounder that was that thick before. It was almost as thick as halibut.

And then this happened.P1012462

P1012465

Those would be marble cheesecake and chocolate peanut butter cheesecake. Four of us shared these two and there were still leftovers. The chocolate peanut butter cheesecake was so thick and rich that if you took a forkful you couldn’t actually get it all off the fork with one try without it looking like you were making out with your utensil. 

Glad we fit this meal in because today includes a hotel breakfast, hotel lunch and airport dinner. Not really looking forward to it…

2 Comments

Filed under Dinner, Restaurants, Travel, Work

2 responses to “Airport insights & Mildred’s Big City Food

  1. I was flying to LA the morning they changed the liquid law. The line to get through security ended up looping through the airport three times and then went out the door. I missed and rescheduled flights two times because the line didn’t move. I ended up having to throw out like $100 worth of makeup, etc. Fun times being a part of history.

  2. I freakin’ LOVE HPN! If I’m going towards Atlanta and Florida, I always go out of there.

Leave a Reply

