My current breakfast obsession

Last week I cooked up a batch of red quinoa that I figured I could get some use out of for some meals in the next few days. Then I ended up not cooking Thursday night and going out to dinner on Friday night, so the quinoa just sat there in the fridge. I’ve made this before and loved it so I figured I could use it as inspiration for Saturday morning’s breakfast.

I put about 1/2 a cup of cooked quinoa in a bowl:

P1012431

Added:

  • 1/4 cup of almond milk
  • 1/4 cup of skim milk
  • 1/4 cup of water
  • cinnamon
  • vanilla extract

and popped it in the microwave just to heat things up for about 1.5 minutes. The quinoa didn’t absorb any of the liquid since it was already cooked, so it turned out to be more of a cereal like consistency.

Then the fun part, toppings!

P1012434

Do you see all the stems on those blueberries? I’m kind of OCD and had to pick off every.single.one. Wish I could get over those kinds of things because that took me a whole 2 minutes. 2 extra minutes between me and my breakfast. Any of my family or friends reading this know how bitchy crazy I can be when hungry.

The last addition was a drizzle of maple syrup on top to sweeten it up just a bit. It’s a little different than a normal breakfast and adds a nice punch of protein from the quinoa. I loved this. So much so that I’ve now eaten it 3 mornings in a row. That pretty much never happens. I need variety in my life. Usually, I don’t go more than 2 days eating the same meal. Maybe it’s because I have 4 cups of cooked quinoa on my hands and know my husband won’t touch it while I’m gone for the next 2 days for work or, maybe it is that good?  Try it and tell me what you think Smile

Currently, I’m on my way here.

Map picture

 

Any Gators out there?

I travel all around the country for work and have been on 100+ college campuses in the past 7 years. Two things I’ve taken away from all this travel:

  1. They put some large/flagship institutions in really remote places. How they can convince more than 40,000 students to go to places like Urbana, IL is beyond me!
  2. I don’t know why I thought picking rural Pennsylvania for my 4 years of undergrad was a good idea when places like this and this exist.

Word on the street is we’re going here for dinner and it’s supposed to be pretty good. Hopefully, the reason they still have the 2010 New Year’s Eve menu on their website is because they are sooo dedicated to the food that they forgot to update the web. Right???

6 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, Recipes, Travel, Work

6 responses to “My current breakfast obsession

  1. we had quinoa with walnuts, raisins, and zucchini for dinner on Sunday night. I kind of want to try it for breakfast now. Then again, if I switch, that’s probably all I’ll eat for the rest of my life. I don’t like change.

  2. Hi Gina! Just stumbled across your blog! Really glad I did! Looking forward to more posts! 🙂

  3. I’ve been meaning to try quinoa since it is gluten free. I just may need to try it now as an alternative to oatmeal!

  4. Pingback: Airport insights & Mildred’s Big City Food | Running to the Kitchen

  5. Pingback: Summer herbed stuffed tomatoes | Running to the Kitchen

Leave a Reply

