5 miles & celebrating Mom

Next Sunday is the HOHA 5 miler race in Hoboken, NJ that I’m racing with my brother’s girlfriend. I haven’t run 5 miles in about 2 weeks and was starting to get a little nervous that maybe I should do a test run to be safe. I’ve done a bunch of 4 or 4.5 milers recently, but I just felt like I needed to run the actual 5 miles to feel better about the race. It was a gorgeous morning and they just recently opened up a 4 mile connector to our local bike trail so I don’t have to keep running back and forth on the one section that is only 1.75 miles. P1012405

There’s just something mental about having to turn around again and again to get the mileage in that makes the run feel longer. It was pretty hot out by the time I got out there around 11am and I definitely started to feel the heat and lack of fluids around mile 3. I think it’s time to break out the camelbak! I love the access to water at any time and it was definitely a life saver last summer with the intense heat but, I DESPISE cleaning the thing. It’s really the last thing I want to do after a long, hot run. Soon enough the 5 miles were over though and I felt a little better about next week’s race.

P1012410

Hi, it's hot!

5 Miles

  • Mile 1: 8:32
  • Mile 2: 8:23
  • Mile 3: 8:31
  • Mile 4: 8:39—>give me water!
  • Mile 5: 8:29

Then it was time to shower and head to Mom’s where this buffoon was waiting for me.

P1012415

That’s Switch. My parents have 2 greyhounds and a pointer (they went a little overboard with the empty nest thing). Switch more closely resembles a horse, not a dog. He’s about 90 pounds, comes up to my elbow, and might seriously be the length of a Smart Car. I say this with the utmost love for him of course but, he’s just not an intelligent dog. We always joke that if Switch could talk he’d preface every sentence with “doh”.

Claire, the pointer and Sugar, the other greyhound, also Switch’s sister. Oh, and also Mom. P1012422

Once Dad was done mowing the lawn we had that “meat on the grill” and wheatberry salad.

P1012416

P1012427

Chicken’s not so pretty when it’s raw, huh? The salad turned out great. Grandma was intrigued by the wheatberries. I also picked up some corn on the cob from my favorite store which I totally thought was going to be a bust considering corn is not even close to being in season around here but, it was some of the sweetest corn I’ve ever had. Simple, yet delicious dinner.

P1012418

P1012420

P1012423

P1012426

P1012424

Hope all the Mom’s out there had a great Mother’s Day!

8 Comments

Filed under Dinner, Family, Meals, Running

8 responses to “5 miles & celebrating Mom

  1. Aw the puppies are so cute! 😉 And kudos to your parents for letting you post their pics online – mine complain lol

  2. barbara gubbay

    Gina, you forgot to say that what Switch lacks in intelligence he makes up for in mellow cuddly easygoing personality! So very glad we adopted him! 🙂

  3. Your parents’ dogs are awesome! And nice work on the five miles! That run looks way nicer than my boring loop in my neighborhood or fighting traffic on 79 so I don’t die

  4. Pingback: Workout woes & muffins! | Running to the Kitchen

  5. Pingback: A fabulous Friday | Running to the Kitchen

  6. Pingback: Father’s Day | Running to the Kitchen

Leave a Reply

